Board of Directors

 Individual commitment to a group effort – that is what makes a team work, a company work, a society work, a civilization work.

– Vince Lombardi

Brian K. McCarthy

Chief Executive Officer, Director

Read More About Brian

Mr. McCarthy founded Energi, Inc. and Energi Insurances Services, Inc. in 2006 and currently serves as the President and CEO.  Mr. McCarthy has led the Company on a significant growth trajectory from an industrial reinsurance entity and into a virtual insurance company with expansion across the U.S. and internationally. The Company has been recognized by Business Insurance Best Places to Work and the Boston Globe Top Places to Work.  In 2011, Mr. McCarthy was invited to participate in the CEO Roundtable: White House Better Buildings Challenge Initiative with President Obama & President Clinton. Beginning in 1983, Mr. McCarthy established his own independent insurance agency that led to the development of Conifer Companies in 2001. At Conifer, he gained expertise in captive program development and alternative risk management programs.  Earlier in his career, Mr. McCarthy was the founder of an Internet-based insurance distribution company that developed the first online insurance application.  He has served on several insurance association boards, and currently serves as a Director of the North Shore Chamber of Commerce.

James P. Townsend

Non Executive Chairman of the Board

Read More About James

Mr. Townsend is the CEO of Townsend Energy Group based in Danvers, MA.  Townsend is one of the largest heating oil and propane distributors in New England, serving residential and commercial customers in Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Maine.  Mr. Townsend has been and continues to be active in several organizations representing the petroleum industry.  Those positions include current Chairman of NAORE, past Chairman of NORA, current member of the NORA Executive Committee, past Chairman of the National Heating Oil Task Force, past Co-Chair of the PMAA Heating Fuels Committee, past President of NEFI, past Chairman of the NEFI Legislative Committee, past Chairman of the NEFI Finance Committee, current member of NEFI Board of Directors and Executive Committee, member Massachusetts Energy Marketers Association, member of Oil Heat Council of New Hampshire, member of Maine Energy Marketers Association, and member of Propane Gas Association of New England.  Currently, Mr. Townsend is the Chairman of the Board of Energi Inc., Chairman of Townsend Insurance Group LLC and past Chairman of the TOV Insurance Group.  He has been the recipient of the NEFI Charles Burkhart award for distinguished industry service, as well as the Theodore Roosevelt award from the Independent Connecticut Petroleum Association.  He also serves as a Trustee of the Salisbury School in Salisbury, CT.

Fred Boling

Vice Chairman

Read More About Fred

Mr. Boling is the Chairman of Harbor Fuel Oil Corporation of Nantucket.  He also serves as the President of Commonwealth Oil Refining and Wyatt Energy. He is also the Director and Vice Chairman of Alliance Oil Company, a publicly traded independent oil company with operations in Russia. Mr. Boling previously held executive positions with Sinclair Oil, Atlantic Richfield, BP Oil Corp., Gibbs Oil and Astroline Oil Trading Corp. In addition to his tenure of forty years experience in the oil industry, Mr. Boling has been active in the banking industry and was President of Security National Bank, a Director of Bank of New England, and was as a Director of Pacific National Bank, Massachusetts until its acquisition by Bank of America. Mr. Boling is President of Investors Life Insurance Company and he is an Overseer of the Business School of Florida Southern College.

John Doak


Read More About John

Mr. Doak was elected as the 12th Insurance Commissioner of Oklahoma and served from 2011 to 2019. As a graduate of University of Oklahoma in 1988 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science, he later began working at the executive level in the insurance industry. Mr. Doak previously served in corporate positions at Marsh, Aon Risk Services, HNI Risk Services, and Ascension Insurance, where he was Senior Vice President of Acquisitions. As Insurance Commissioner, his visionary efforts included hosting the National Tornado Summit, an annual disaster preparedness confe​rence for insurance professionals, emergency managers and meteorologists. He has been involved in the initial formation of the NAIC Task Force on Innovation and as a regulator interested in assisting startup companies. Mr. Doak currently is the Executive Vice President of Regulatory Affairs, Innovation and Business Development at Insurance Care Direct.

Vincent Osterman


Read More About Vincent

Mr. Osterman is the President of Osterman Associated Companies which contributed the assets of its propane operations to NGL Energy Partners, LP (NYSE: NGL) on October 3, 2011. Mr. Osterman serves as NGL’s President of Eastern Retail Propane Operations and is a member of its Board of Directors. Mr. Osterman had a 20-year tenure as a director of the National Propane Gas Association (NPGA).  He also serves on Propane Gas Association of New England, and the Board of Advisors of the Gaudette Insurance Agency.

Brian Williams


Read More About Brian

Mr. Williams is President of Williams Coal & Oil Company.  The company was established in 1919 and has become one of the leading distributors of energy products and services in Southeastern Massachusetts.  Prior to joining the company, Mr. Williams was a bank examiner with the Federal Reserve System attending various financial/regulatory schools at the Federal Reserve System in Washington D.C. and Rutgers University in New Jersey.  Mr. Williams is a former incorporator/chairman of the board of Horizon Bank and Trust Company (bank sold 2004).  Mr. Williams is presently a director of Hingham Mutual Insurance Company.  Mr. Williams has a BS and MBA from Northeastern University, Boston.

Let's Get Started.